Page Updated


The Derbyshire Archaeological Society was founded in 1878 to encourage interest in the County’s history and archaeology.

We run a regular programme of talks and visits and a number of lectures at Derby University on topics of local and national interest

In addition to publishing the annual Derbyshire Archaeological Journal, we also produce ‘Miscellany’, which focuses on local history and a Newsletter.

The programme of events is organised by the four sections of the Society who have a special interest in Archaeology, Local History, Architecture and Industrial Archaeology. When the opportunity arises, field work is organised by the Archaeological Research Group. The overall administration of the Society is run by its Council.

Full details of all our events, publications and contacts can be found via the menu together with membership information. The Stop Press page will notify readers of any (mercifully rare) changes to our programme and information on any relevant local or national events that may be of interest to you.

Our talks and lectures are open and free of charge to members and to the general public and we would hope that this would encourage future membership.

Scroll down to see current events.

Full details in EVENTS page. See STOP PRESS.


Fri 25-Sep DAS-WEA

Death and Taxes (but mainly taxes): The Effects of the Civil War on the population and families in the East Midlands : Professor Martyn Bennett, Nottingham Trent. Room OL1, University of Derby, Kedleston Road, Derby.

Fri 9 Oct

The Eco Home : Allan Joyce

Sat 10 Oct

EMIAC 89 – Swannington.  Old Railways, Coal Mining and Windmills. Book via July newsletter or DAS website.

Fri 16 Oct

Living in Derby in the 1950s : Paul Sturges

Fri 23 Oct

Bass Brewery Railway Trips: Rod Pearson

Fri 30 Oct DAS

Roman Sculpture in Derbyshire : Lindsay Allason-Jones OBE. Room OL1,University of Derby, Kedleston Road, Derby.

Fri 6 Nov

Excavations at Thornton Abbey : Dr Hugh Willmott

Fri 13 Nov

The Dovedale Hoard : Rachael Hall

Fri 20 Nov

Boarding Schools For Girls in Victorian Derbyshire: Liz Keeley

Fri 4 Dec



Fri 8 Jan DAS-WEA

Highlights from Recent Excavations at Maryport : Tony Wilmott, English Heritage. Room OL1,University of Derby, Kedleston Road, Derby.

Fri 22 Jan

The Canary Girls of Chilwell : Maureen Rushton

Fri 29 Jan

The Roundhouse, Derby : Ian Harris

Fri 5 Feb

The Life and Times of a Victorian Water Engineer: Chris Hossack

Fri 12 Feb

Derby Shrovetide Football : Paul Hudson

Fri 19 Feb

Further Excavations at The Friary, Leicester : Mathew Morris

Fri 26 Feb

Tom Larimore Memorial lecture. St Mary's Church Hall. “Heanor - Then and Now” : Brian Key, Chairman of Heanor & District Local History Society.

Fri 4 Mar DAS

Torksey, Lincs - recent work in the winter camp of the Viking Great Army : Professors Dawn Hadley, University of Sheffield or Julian D Richards, University of York. Room OL1,University of Derby, Kedleston Road.

Fri 11 Mar AS-AGM

Stone House Prebend and the Bate family : Joan D'Arcy

Fri 18 Mar LHS-AGM

Robert Sherbourne, Churchman and Diplomat : Arnold Burston

Fri 1 Apr IAS-AGM

An Overseas IA Miscellany : Ian Mitchell.

Fri 8 Apr ARG-AGM

Excavations of a mill at Toton : Gill Morral

Fri 29 Apr DAS AGM

Programme to be advised